Sierra Canyon, Somersett, Villages, The Vue – Your Community Forum

The following submitted by Joe Bower, Sierra Canyon Homeowner:

I want to publicly thank owners Pauline & Eugene Gerscovich for first pointing out to me the fire danger presented by the bar-b-ques that were in the two required picnic areas installed by Pulte within Sierra Canyon II.

That led me to a year-long plus effort to have these bar-b-ques formally removed both physically and as a requirement.  I made several personal visits to the City offices of the planner and fire captain and of course had extensive correspondence with them via email.

The end result is “adios bar-b-ques” plus the addition of the second table originally missing from each area.

I am sad to report that these areas will not be moved to better locations and that they are not equal to what are in Villages 6 and 9, i.e. no roof over them. Instead Pulte has planted some trees around the areas. Hopefully they will help shield picnickers from seeing and hearing passing cars.

I can only do so much, but my eyes are now focused on common area irrigation and xeriscaping and additional options for private mow strip landscaping.

Note:  The Condition Amendment for Sierra Canyon II pertaining to the BBQ removal may be accessed by clicking on the following link:

Sierra Canyon II Condition Amendment

Comments on: "Sierra Canyon Picnic Area BBQ Removal" (4)

  1. Nosey people sticking their nose in everywhere are one of my biggest complaints about HOAs. They feel they have the right to ensure everyone lives by one set of rules they see are right. We have a government full of these types and every HOA has at least one.

    My house will be going on the market pretty soon and my wife and I have identified several non HOA neighborhoods that are very nice. The money I save on HOA dues will definitely increase what we can afford for a new residence. And no nosey old people with nothing else to do but dictate to their neighbors.

    • God bless you Stagecoachdriver!!! Sorry to see you go as we need more like you and less like…

    • Farmers60 said:

      This individual has had this problem since I moved here eight years ago. He has been a pain in the backside for many in this community. I caught him looking over my fence one day checking out my back yard. He had to climb a 12 foot high hill in order to be a trespasser. He goes beyond the pale to find violations, real or otherwise.

      • If our CC&Rs weren’t so oppressive and our HOA a bit less fascist (an authoritarian and nationalistic system of government and social organization), people like this would have nothing left to entertain themselves.

Leave a Reply

